Sunshine, skirts and sand.

Sunny Devon days are here, so it’s time to ditch the flowery staircase and the black opaques for the seaside.

As a warning…it’s easy to take a bazillion pictures on a sunny day…they are rare here so we must document them!

IMG_6478

We live on the South West Coast line of the UK and we have a veritable bevy of seaside kitsch and rugged Poldark style scenery on our doorstep. Seagulls maybe an exotic sound for some, but for us they are merely pastie pinching white noise.

Luckily one of my favourite ladies finds this combination very appealing.

IMG_6526

Mrs E and I are both sporting our very best handmade threads for a splash in Teignmouth, my Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt in Atelier Brunette fabric and her very sophisticated linen mix Tilly and the Buttons skirt.

This fabric was ultra lightweight and perfect for a day of non-committal paddling with deep pockets for beach finds and mooching. If you love water so cold that your ankles ache, I can’t recommend the UK beach experience enough.

 

IMG_6517

Mrs E and me have been friends for an eternity, from little undergrads to silly grown ups, and now we can share a joint love of sewing too. Modern life, school and jobs mean we don’t see each other often but I am immensely proud of my newest sewing pupil!

IMG_6507

Kelly Skirt Part Deux…

I loved my new Megan Nielsen skirt that it spawned another very different Merchant and Mills Corduroy version with leopard print buttons.

IMG_6089

Teamed with my Lotta Jansdotter Esme tunic top also in Merchant and Mills cotton, I felt pretty pleased with my new combo.

IMG_6063

Pleased enough to probably scare the early morning dog walkers in the park by sitting in a tree inexplicably being snapped by instahusband.

Look… as mentioned this is a shameless photo heavy blog post. Instahusband were having so much fun snapping away on the loveliest of sunny days in his hometown that I’ve ended up with a surplus of pics!

I love taking pics for the blog, hamming it up, striking a pose and sharing my latest make because I hope that someone somewhere who is tentatively considering starting to sew will be as inspired as I was my favourite bloggers.

IMG_6082

For the next couple of blog posts I can guarantee a lot more sunshine and crazy photos. Life’s too short not to vogue a little teeny bit?!

8 thoughts on “Sunshine, skirts and sand.

  1. Super photos, I love seeing them, I’ve not long joined Instagram and I’m finding the photos quite hard, yours always look fun and amazing!! Love the new skirt, it’s a fab outfit 💗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment